Wednesday, January 20, 2016

A new year and week's worth of shadow

Hello, it's 2016. What the heck. Since it's already the 20th of January, I'm not going to repeat the usual stuff you say in the new year because you've already read a billion of those posts.

I've been on holidays, road trippin' with my boyfriend for weeks. Yep, it was totally teenage movie-esque full of camping, ice-cream, beaches, starry nights and loud music. Damn, I was living the dream.

But now I'm back and starting to think about the year ahead. I'm going to get around to making some little goals - I hope to write a post about it once I've really gathered all the information in my own head! - and thinking about what is to come.

In the meantime, I thought I'd give you an interesting post (that, by the way, has taken me so long to make). It's 6 eyeshadow looks that I wore over a period of two or so weeks. Most of them involve some of my newer shadows by Sleek and Makeup Geek. Enjoy!

Date Night

My boyfriend and I went out dancing and I felt it was the perfect chance to get a little glam. I've always been hesitant around black and grey shadows but I think I managed to pull it off in a classy manner! I used my Makeup Geek Shadow in Corrupt as a base shadow, with Urban Decay's shadow Virgin on the inner corner and Half Baked in the centre of the lid. Both of the Urban Decay Shadows are from the NAKED palette. My mascara was the Rimmel Scandal Eyes.

Dessert bar with the girls

I have been loving exploring all the dessert bars around the place with my friends. I chose Inglot's shadow in 09. It's a stunning rose gold that changes from the rose to the gold in the light which you can see from the photos. I put a tiny bit of MAC's Cork in the crease, lined my eyes with the Maybelline Master Precise Liquid liner and put on some Rimmel Scandal Eyes Mascara.

Lazy day at home

Purple shadow was never something that interested me at all, however when I purchased the Makeup Geek Starter palette it came with some purple shades and I've since found them to be really flattering. I used the lilac matte shade Unexpected and then applied a tiny bit of the dark shimmery purple Drama Queen in the outer corner. Because I have Hazel/Green eyes, I think it complements them really well. The one thing I do have to be careful of is that it doesn't look like I have a black eye! I used Maybelline's Great Lash Lots of Lashes mascara.

Evening music gig

I decided once again to venture into the realm of black eyeshadows, using a matte black from the Makeup Geek palette called Corrupt. It is the only shade I used for this look. I simply lined my upper lashline with it and then blended it upwards, creating a very subtle smokey eye. I lined my upper lashline with a super thin line of Maybelline's Master Precise liquid liner, and smudged some of Rimmel's Exaggerate eye definer (in black) along my lower lashline.

Getting Creative

I picked up the Sleek i-Divine Palette in Storm and I couldn't resist getting a bit creative with some of the gorgeous shadows in there. The shades don't have names so I'll simply describe the colours I used. I used a golden olive shade all over the lid, with a dark forest green in the outer corner and champagne in the inner corner. I lined my upper lashline with the Face of Australia Kajal Eyeliner Stix in Horus. I put some of the golden olive on my lower lashline. I was surprised with how much I loved the green!

Christmas Party

In my opinion, a Christmas party calls for a cranberry coloured eye! I wanted to use my Sleek palette (again) which was perfect as it has a pink shade that I used all over my lids and a deep cranberry shade that I applied in the outer corners. I applied a tiny amount of shimmery white shadow in the inner corners. For mascara, I used Rimmel's Scandaleyes Rocking Curves mascara which has been my go-to for a while.

I don't wear red/cranberry shades often, but when I do I recall how much I love them!

Saturday, December 26, 2015

2015 Boxing Day Haul - Illamasqua, Glasshouse Fragrances, OPI and more

This was the first year I'd ever taken advantage of the sales and gone shopping on boxing day. The first time, and the last.

My goodness how naive I was! I went into Rundle Mall excited about the bargains I was anticipating, only to find unbelievably long lines stretching out the doors of the shops, angry and hurried people pushing one another out of the way, and sales that many shop assistants told me started before Christmas and finished in February. What was I doing there?!

Nevertheless, I was in the mall and I figured I may as well make the most of it while I was there. To be honest whilst many sales were good, I don't think it was at all worth enduring the trauma to be a part of them! 

This is what I grabbed in the chaos!

Rubi Shoes Beach Towel
Black and white stripes are my thing at the moment, so when I spotted this towel for $5 down from $17 I couldn't resist. It's not super good quality but it was so cheap it doesn't really matter.

Illamasqua Velvet Blusher in Peaked
This is my first ever Illamasqua product so I am rather excited to use it! It was half price, down to $17.50 from $35.

Australis Pout Paste in Make me Blush
I've never tried any of the Pout Pastes so when this was on sale at Priceline for $4 I figured I couldn't go wrong.

Sally Hansen Double Duty Base and Top Coat
I'm sick of red polishes staining my nails so I hope this will help as a base coat. It was half price, down from $14.95 to $7.48.

2016 Diary from Typo
I rely on a diary for Uni and I am very specific about the layout and features. This one fit the bill and it was half price, so $8.50 down from $17. 

Le Tan Application Mitt
So I've never tried a hardcore self tan, only the gradual tan, but naturally I've acquired a shit ton over the years of beauty blogging. I'm going to be brave and give tanning a try since I am ghostly pale, and I heard an application mitt was a good start. I got it for $6.99 at Chemist Warehouse.

Rubi Shoes Sports Watch
When I was at the counter purchasing the towel the lady there convinced me to buy this white watch for $5, 50% off. What can I say, I'm easily persuaded.

The Balm Mary-Lou Manizer 
I've wanted to dabble in the balm for so long but it really is quite expensive, considering I have a billion highlighters anyway. The Balm was 30% off at David Jones and I saw it as my chance to try the brand out. It ended up being $21.00 down from $30. Not bad, not bad.

'Sh' mug from Typo
I am a science nerd and this mug states "Sh. The element of shut your mouth." Nuff' said. It was $5, half price.

Glasshouse 350g candle in Tahaa Vanilla Candle
At $42.00 (and no sale) this was not exactly a bargain buy, but my god I've wanted this for so long and if I can't get it for myself at Christmas then when can I? It is easily the most delicious candle I've ever come across.

OPI All Stars 10 pack
In David Jones these were on sale for $22.47 down from $44.95. I'd already spent so much money this seemed like a good idea. There are some gorgeous colours and for OPI polishes it's pretty good value.

Cutex Nail polish remover
A boring purchase, but a necessity considering all of the polishes I'd acquired!

So all in all, I'm thrilled with my haul although I know I'll never be braving boxing day ever again. I think I'll wait for some less hyped up sales.

Monday, December 7, 2015

Sleek Makeup & The Balm are now in Target!

Listen up! You may not have heard the news - makeup brands Sleek and The Balm are now being stocked in some Australian Targets! I can't tell you which ones are stocking the brands however I do believe Targets from all Australian states and territories are.

I went in today and I think prices for both brands are between $15 and $50, with Sleek being slightly more affordable.

I picked up some Sleek products as the ones I wanted from The Balm weren't in stock, which I will be reviewing soon.

Friday, December 4, 2015

Monthly Favourites - November

It's December, which is ridiculous. I'm sure every man and his dog will express the speed with which this year has flown in their monthly favourites, so I'll spare you from hearing it again. November marked the last of my uni exams and the successful completion of my first year of university! To celebrate, this blog was resurrected from the dead and I'm slowly getting back into the swing of posting.

It was darn easy to pick monthly favourites for November because I haven't shared any favourites with you for months.

Eyes: Without a doubt, buying the Makeup Geek starter palate on a whim at 1am one night was easily one of my better decisions. It comes with 9 standard shades, almost all of which I feel are appropriate for a starter kit. I would have loved to see more browns instead of purples, however I have been getting use out of all of them. The pigmentation is amazing, palate set up (that allows you to remove the pans with ease) and the cost is pretty good. A clear winner.

Face: After all the raving about the Hourglass products, I really wasn't convinced. For a powder that cost so much and barely showed up, my student budget wasn't having it. Then Model's prefer came out with a dupe and I jumped on the bandwagon. I adore this powder, it is amazing and I have mine in the shade Photo Ready.

Lips: As I stated in my haul here, I didn't even know that this range of glosses existed until I purchased one. I cannot recommend the Rimmel Oh My Gloss range enough, despite only owning one shade (Glossaholic). It is perfect in every way.

Nails: I must admit, these polishes came as a little bit of a disappointment however I had to include them because they are the only polishes I've worn all month. It is the Sally Hansen Miracle Gel polish in Get it Bright and the corresponding gel topcoat. I expected super good wear out of this and I found it to be relatively similar to all my other polishes. I'm going to keep persisting but it hasn't won me over yet...

Other: I have never been a fake tan person but the Australis Tinted Let's Go Steady Gradual Tan Body Moisturiser (what a mouthful!) is incredible. Incredible! I lather this on daily for about three days in a row and I have a natural but clearly enhanced glow to my skin. It smells fine, is so freaking easy and looks bloody amazing. I love this product.

Book: I've added in a new category because books are such a big part of my life. This month I read one of my favourite books of the year - Blood and Guts by Richard Hollingham. It is a brief, albeit absolutely fascinating, history of surgery and developments through areas like heart surgery, transplants, plastic surgery and the brain. It is gory, gruesome and overall absolutely mind blowing. This book made me so, so appreciative of the current medical practises, and in awe of the brilliant minds who came before us, discovering new ways to improve surgical techniques and the comfort of their patients. An incredible book for a science-lover.

Wednesday, November 25, 2015

MAC Eyeshadow Palate in Amber Times Nine AKA the biggest disappointment

This should have been the palate of all palates...My first ever MAC shadow, 9 in fact, all in beautiful shades I would get so much use out of and for a bargain (okay, heavy discount) of $65. Yet this palate has been such a huge disappointment. 

We'll start with the good things as this part will be short. As I mentioned, the shades, oh the shades. They are unbelievably beautiful and I knew as soon as I spotted this that I would get a whole heap of use out of them.

The packaging is lovely, and I actually quite like that they are smaller than the typical shadow size as I don't tend to use eyeshadows up terribly quickly. 

The price was an absolute bargain considering that single MAC shadows are $33 each. 9 MAC shadows for $65 seemed like the most perfect way to try out some highly raved about shadows that had been on my wishlist for a very long time.

And that's where all the positives finish.

This is undoubtedly one of the most poorly pigmented palates I have ever come across - I wouldn't pay $10 for it. There are three shades out of the entire palate that are visible on the eyelids; Georgia Peach, Cork and Aromatic. Notice that all of these are matte finishes.

The rest were hopeless. The lighter shades simply didn't show up on my skin tone, though I expect they might a little on darker skin. And then there were the glittery shades, poorly pigmented bases with chunks of glitter reminiscent of a child playing princess with those shoddy lip glosses marketed at 5 year olds. Honestly MAC, I know you must have good shadows because the whole world raves about them, so why did you muck this palate up?!

Furthermore, there were three shadows in particular that I was just bursting to try: Kitties (F), Creative Copper (L) and Don't Tell (L) which turned out to be the three worst shades. In fact, Don't Tell just makes me want to cry in despair for spending money on it. Sigh.

For the photos below, I swatched the shadow 2-3 times on my arm so as to make it as visible as possible.

There's really not much more to say about this palate except simply don't buy it. Perhaps and investment in two single shadows would have been wiser but at this point I've lost faith in MAC shadows. Please please please tell me if you have had any luck with this palate (or one of the other 9 shadow palates) because I really feel I must have received a dodgy one as so many people adore MAC shadows.

Friday, November 20, 2015

Priceline 40% off Haul and Skincare Bag

So as you all know, Priceline had a 40% off sale this week and I couldn't resist!
It had been a while since I last hauled some makeup and a lot of new and exciting things had come out since. Some of these purchases were planned, others impulse, however I don't regret a thing! All the prices listed below are what I paid with the 40% discount, so you can see I really did get some bargains!

Australis AC On Tour Palate - $10.11
This palate took the beauty world by storm and to be honest, it never really captured my interested however with 40% off I figured it would be worth giving it a go. 

Bourjois Aqua Blush in CocoriCorali - $13.80
I'd never heard a whisper about these but as soon as I spotted it I knew it was mine. I have no liquid blushes in my collection and this shade is absolutely beautiful. In summer I really don't wear a whole heap of makeup so this will be perfect for a light and natural bit of colour.

Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet in 02 - $14.40
I've only read positive things about this, and naturally as a lip product it is up my alley! I was totally smitten with this gorgeous shade too.

Essence Liquid lipstick in Show Off - $3.06
I didn't realise how similar a shade it was to the Bourjois one that I grabbed, but I guess that's the colour I'm craving at the moment. For such a good price I'm hoping these liquid lipsticks will impress.

Lanolips Makeup Bag and Lipsticks - $19.99I didn't realise until I got home that this wasn't actually a part of the 40% off sale, so $20 is the regular retail price. I've never tried Lanolips but I've been in desperate need of a moisturising lip product, ideally with a bit of colour, and these seemed to fit the bill. I love the two shades that were included too.

Nude by Nature Brush Kit - $17.97For such a wonderful price I couldn't go wrong with these brushes. Nude by Nature is a brand I always walk past, however these brushes are so soft, and I'm always in need of more eyeshadow brushes. I'm really looking forward to using these. 

Rimmel Oh My Gloss in Glossaholic - $8.37
I'd never seen these before and bit the bullet, chucking one in my basket without giving it much thought. I am in love with the shade I grabbed, a beautiful milky pink with no shimmer. It is unbelievably moisturising, in fact so far it ticks all the boxes for my perfect gloss. 

Luma Illuminating Highlighter in Pearl - $14.97
Once again, I'd never seen this brand let alone the product before, but of my gosh is it beautiful. I own no cream illuminators despite them being my absolute favourite product of late, so it was a no brainer to take this home with me. 

Face of Australia Kajal Eyeliner Stix in Horus - $3.47
To be honest I think these eyeliners look absolutely ridiculous, and once you start to use them up would be incredibly impractical, however the stunning bronze shade meant that fell for it. For $3.50 I don't mind if this ends up being rubbish.

So they were all the products I picked up in the sale, and because I ended up spending a heck of a lot, the lovely lady gave me the Skincare bag that has been a part of one of their other deals. I am so grateful to her as it is a really amazing bag!

Housed in a clear black bag with copper handles, it's not my favourite bag ever however the products inside are what take the cake! I'm sure there are a million other posts about this so I'll just list the products I received. Note that some of them I was able to choose with the vouchers that it comes with.

I've listed the prices for the full sized products where possible.

Models Prefer Tan Remove Exfoliate Double Sided Body Wipes
Physiogel Daily Moisture Therapy Intensive Cream - $15.99
Suntivity Hydrating Face Lotion SPF 30
A'kin Pure Radiance Rosehip Oil - $19.99
Swisse Micellar Makeup Remover - $10.99
Le Tan Jet Dry Bronze Instant Tan - $14.29
Proactiv Deep Cleansing Wash - $31.99
Australis Tinted Let's Go Steady Gradual Tan - $19.99
Skin Physics DNA Reset Ultimate Rejuvination Cream - $69.99
SugarBaby Sugar C-Rush Coconut and Raw Sugar Exfoliating Body Scrub - $14.99
Touch In SOL Pure Dew Water Drop BB Cream - $39.99
Aveeno Daily Moisturising Lotion - $14.99
NIP Fab Skin Dragon's Blood Fix Plumping Serum (Sache) - $32.99
KLARA Reset Instant New Skin - $9.99
Skinny Tan Mini Mitt
Derma e Microdermabrasion Scrub - $29.99
Revo Lip Balm in Cherry
Nip Fab Skin Glycolic Fix - $34.99
Spot Medic - $9.99
Manuka Doctor Purified Bee Venom and Manuka Honey Skincare

Wednesday, November 18, 2015

Hello, It's me.

Hello hello hello.

It's been months, 7 months, yet here I am.

I have no explanations to give, and I'm not really going to apologise. I have officially completed my first year of a Bachelor of Speech Pathology, I have a boyfriend, I have a car, a job. Life has changed in a way that I never could have predicted.

I have grown up from a child to a woman and it has been amazing. In the midst of all of that, YouReview fell to the wayside. And I'm not sorry about that, I was just the way it needed to be.

But now I have three months holidays ahead of me and I realised that blogging was something I enjoyed, perhaps even missed. I have more beauty products to write about than one could imagine, and even more exciting they are more "grown up" than what little Candice used to blog about.

One lovely thing about this blog is seeing my journey with makeup. To think I used to sing praises about BYS lipsticks and now I'm in the realms of the MAC lipstick club...well, it makes me laugh.

Many of my makeup dreams have been fulfilled (haha) including the acquisition of the NAKED palate, Makeup geek eyeshadows, MAC eyeshadows and lipsticks, and a never ending collection of beautiful and varied lip products.

My oh my do I have a lot to update you on.

To those who stuck around, my goodness, I cannot thank you enough and I hope you enjoy the next couple of months here at YouReview.

And one more confession...since it seems like a fresh start, I have to confess that Candice is a pseudonym. Yep, I have felt guilty about this for sooo long but now I've acknowledged it, I can continue using it here on this blog. There are many reasons I do so and hope you all respect that. It was never to fool anyone or trick anyone...the internet can be a scary place for a 14 year old girl embarking on thing new craze called a blog.

So, welcome back and hopefully you are happy to see me again.

Much love,

Monday, April 13, 2015

Sportsgirl Makeup - Lips & Nails

Sportsgirl makeup is something I've never ever looked into. I'm going to take a wild guess and say that it's due to the fact that I never enter the store because I can't afford the clothing. The other day, however, I was compelled to enter when I saw a heap of makeup significantly reduced and figured it would be a good time to give their beauty products a try.

I'm going to be honest here and acknowledge that I have no idea how it happened, but I ended up paying $1 each for the lipsticks and $2.50 for the nail polish. Bargain! There were very few options in terms of colour selection because only a couple of shades were part of the sale but I think I did a darn good job with my choices!

First up are the lipsticks, and let me tell you, I am a huge fan. They are both matte shades, although I feel that the pink shade 'Doll Face' is slightly less matte than Starlet. Despite this they are both so creamy, easy to apply and so comfortable to wear. I love that they are both so pigmented and have a really good lasting power. The red shade 'Starlet' stains the slightest bit however staining isn't really a property of either of the lipsticks. I believe these retail at full price for $10 and I can tell you they are so worth it! Sportsgirl also has a really great shade range of their 'Pout about it lipsticks' so you really must get your hands on them if you live in Australia.

L-R: Doll Face, Starlet

We then have their nail polishes, and I can't speak on behalf of the entire range since 'Head Start' is the only one I've ever tried, but like the lipsticks it is of a magnificent quality. This will sound really strange (it's a weird beauty blogger logic) but I don't actually particularly like the actual shade, I was more interested in trying out the 'jelly formula' it claims to have. I really love the formulation of this polish and found that it was completely opaque in two coats with high shine. It also lasts really well - the photos in this post were taken three days after application, and as you can see there was minimal wear visible.

So, as you can see, Sportsgirl makeup is bloody great! I have seen a couple of Aussie girls praising the products in the past on their blogs but still didn't take the plunge and actually check them out. I recommend that you do, especially as they seem to be having lots of sales at the moment. It is totally worth your money!

Thursday, April 9, 2015

OOTD - Boots & A Trench

It is with great sorrow that I come to acknowledge that the cooler weather is upon us and Winter is lurking just around the corner. I am a summer girl through and through so this realisation seriously is heartbreaking, so to ease the pain a little I thought I'd post an OOTD in an outfit that makes me feel like I've stepped out of a commercial. By the way, you have to find your commercial-esque outfit - you know, the one that makes you feel absolutely freaking gorgeous - because it will change your life.

Perhaps the only good thing about the cooler weather is the fashion that it brings...I for one am a huge fan of scarves, boots and coats. A good trench coat is, in my opinion, an absolute staple in everyone's wardrobe and paired with some heeled boots you're set to go. 

Unfortunately for you guys, this entire outfit (excluding only my earrings) is from the Op-shop (what can I say, 90% of my wardrobe is) but it's the staples themselves that you want to invest in, not the exact pieces.

A gorgeous coat is something that everyone needs in their wardrobe and I am in love with this one I got from a dodgy little Op-shop that I rarely visit. I seriously had to search through so much junk to come across this gem as well as doing a little bit of repair with the buttons, but for $9 this was such a good investment. 

The boots are another one of my winter favourites. These are just simple, black, lace-up boots with a little heel. They're really quite comfortable all things considered although one downfall is they've quickly become scratched and scuffed. Luckily, because they're black it's not too obvious.

We then have everyone's staple all year round, the comfy jeans. These probably aren't my most comfortable jeans but I like the dark blue denim so they'll do the job.

Add a black and white shirt, some silver jewellery and you have a complete outfit that (hopefully) makes you feel a million bucks!

Original sources of the clothing pieces:
Jacket: Regatta (Myer)
Shirt: Sportsgirl
Jeans: Cotton On
Boots: Target
Earrings: Lovisa
Necklace: Unknown
Watch: Unknown

Sunday, April 5, 2015

Collective haul - Face of Australia, Essie, OPI and more

Over the last couple of month I've managed to acquire some wonderful stuff for some ridiculously good prices so I thought I'd share my bargains with you all...

Kmart has actually been my best friend in the beauty department lately. I purchased the Nivea Lip
Butter in Caramel Cream (and oh my gosh it smells divine!) for only two dollars. They're obviously no longer stocking Face of Australia which is a major disappointment however it did mean I was able to pick up three of their lipsticks, each for four dollars. I grabbed some seriously beautiful shades, my favourite being Forbidden Fruit and the other two including Power Surge and Pink Champagne.

When Priceline had their 40% off sale I actually didn't go too crazy but I did get two Australis products - an Australis concealer which I am so freaking disappointed with, and the brow tint which thankfully makes up for the crappy concealer. If any of you have actually tried the concealer let me know because it's probably one of the worst I've ever come across...

Essie has captured my heart with its amazing colour range and incredible formula so I was tempted with this beauty, Limo-scene. I adore the colour (which is why it made it into my March favourites) but sadly, as is often the case with white polishes, the formula isn't great.

Now that Priceline is stocking OPI polishes I've found myself souring the bins for good bargains. A lot of the shades they have a pretty unappealing but the shade Nomad's dream caught my eye. I don't usually go for the frosty kinds of polishes but this one is damn gorgeous. I also grabbed some hairspray, and the reason it is so exciting is because I've never owned hairspray in my whole life...I know right!

My favourite concealer is the Face of Australia stick concealer in natural so I had to repurchase it recently when I ran out, and while I was there I grabbed their illuminating stick in When in Rome which I highly recommend you look into because it's super pretty.

There is a Chemist's Warehouse near me and they always have really good deals, so I couldn't resist when I saw the highly raved about Rimmel Match Perfection Foundation in my shade for only $9. I've been really impressed with it so far.

Of course, Priceline is always calling my name with good sales and in one of the million occasions that I set foot in the store, I managed to come out with a Models Prefer Lip Crayon in the shade Raspberry Ripple and an Essence lipstick in the shade Love Me. I'd never taken any notice of the Models Prefer lip crayons but for $2 it was a worthwhile purchase.

Last but not least is a totally unexpected purchase, a Sportsgirl lipstick. I have never ever owned any Sportsgirl makeup but have seen fairly positive reviews about their stuff. I was in Sportsgirl and I think something must have been mislabelled because I purchased their lipstick in the shade Doll Face for $0.98 and I really like the bold shade!

L-R: Raspberry Ripple, Forbidden Fruit, Power Surge, Pink Champagne, Doll Face, Love me
 So there you have it, my recent additions to my beauty stash. Let me know if there are any products in particular that you would like to see a review on. I've been really slack with my posting but I promise I'll try my best to write about anything you're particularly interested in!

L-R: Raspberry Ripple, Forbidden Fruit, Power Surge, Pink Champagne, Doll Face, Love me

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...